Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Sony RM-AV3000 from Sony Electronics.
Sony RM-AV3000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.72/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
102$199
As Sony's top-of-the-line remote control, the powerful RM-AV3000 features control of 18 devices, 45 macros, full learning capabilities, timers, a large LCD touchscreen and a good complement of hard buttons.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 9 of 15 for
the Sony RM-AV3000 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|6|7|8|9|10|11|12|Last >> ]

Written by k wolf from Orlando, FL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 46 made on Friday January 10, 2003 at 5:24 PM.
Strengths:- Very powerful, easily operated all my devices
- Fully customizable names for labels, macros, devices, and timers
- Oh yes, the TIMERS!
- High "cool factor" with the touch screen
- Hard keys for most common devices
Weaknesses:- No hard keys for VCR / DVD control buttons
- Very hard to read the LCD in low light
- Confusing to access second and third levels of label keys
- Very bulky
Review:I initially purchased this remote to get rid of all my OEM remotes, and it did a wonderful job of learning all my functions. Most of my Sony devices worked immediately and, for the first time, the device code for my cable box actually controlled more than just the power.

I won't harp on the manual; that's been discussed enough by others. The more I used the remote, the more its lack of hard buttons became annoying. I grew tired very quickly of looking down every time I wanted to pause, forward, or rewind a DVD, or page down on my cable guide.

It's great having fully customized labels for learned functions, but only showing 4 at a time along the bottom was far from ideal, and no one without reading the manual could figure out how to access the next two levels of keys.

For some reason, the touch screen did not always work the first time I selected a button. This happened quite frequently when trying to do a two-key combination, such as delete. Maybe I wasn't hitting the pad just right, but it seemed to be happening a bit too often, and gave me concerns for the long term reliability of the touch screen.

This remote's size was a strength AND a weakness. I liked being able to access so many functions at once, but found it uncomfortable to surf while lying on the couch. The LCD screen looked so nice, my wife and I were afraid to touch it while we ate, or leave the remote anywhere near pets or small children.

As a digital cable owner, I loved the timer functions. I could program timers to turn everything on, change the channel, and record a program. Then I'd set up another to record a second channel later in the day. This by itself was almost enough for me to keep the Sony.

Unfortunately, its problems were too much for me. If Sony added hard keys for Play, Rew, Fwd, Stop, and Pause this would be a completely different review. But those are some of my most used controls, and I just couldn't get used to the touch screen.

After about a week with the Sony, it went back to the store. I have an MX500 on order and hope it will work out better for me. I guess I'm just not yet ready to give up all my keys.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Vito from MA, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 45 made on Tuesday January 7, 2003 at 12:22 PM.
Strengths:Large scale design
Weaknesses:Poorly lit lcd; other buttons not lit; unreliable programming
Review:At first I really liked the remote, although I quickly saw what some other posters had written - the buttons are impossible to read in low light and the lcd images were not that clear. Unlike other posters I didn't have too much trouble with the instruction book, I played with the remote for 3 hours to program 5 pieces and several macros. Everything was going OK then the remote started to act up. I did have a lock on all system settings, so it was not user error. Last week the contrast of the lcd screen would occassionally decrease to the point it was unreadable. This happened every other day for the week. Then, finally,none of the buttons would work as programmed. I ended up very carefully and quickly changing the batts - and I lost all of my programming. Back into the box and back to the retailer it went.

Have my mx-500 on order, will post on that after 30 days of use.

My rating is harsh because I am frustrated, but at $200 and meticulous programming I don't expect malfunctions, particularly when the system is locked to changes.

Secretly I am happy I am sending it back - I wasn't please with the lcd quality and I cannot believe the other buttons were not lit. I did like the size and shape.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Atul from Oregon, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 44 made on Monday January 6, 2003 at 2:26 PM.
Strengths:Good learning capability
Weaknesses:Very bulky; won't support a lot of components out of the box; LCD can be difficult to read while programming
Review:The first thing I noticed about the AV3000 was its width -- I don't know what Sony had in mind, but this remote looks like it's been designed for Cyclops (or people with huge hands anyway). It's almost impossible to operate this remote with one hand and it certainly isn't light.

The manual wasnít as bad as some people made it out to be. The other disappointing thing was that I had to teach it most of my components (Yamaha RX-1200, Toshiba HD-80 RPTV, DishTV SAT).

While teaching the remote, the keys that havenít been programmed flash rapidly and this is very disconcerting. The LCD can be very difficult to read under low light conditions, even with backlighting.

Frankly, I simply cannot fathom why this remote has been receiving rave reviews. I returned mine and bought a MX-500 instead and have been very happy with it.

Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Carolyn Ingram from Sydney, Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 43 made on Saturday January 4, 2003 at 7:19 PM.
Strengths:Great out-of-box functionality! Very easy to use and so far it does everything I have wanted it to do.
Weaknesses:Reprogramming the factory settings is a bit tricky (I am still to figure out how to re-program the factory set buttons 1 & 3 of system control).
The big touch screen leaves finger prints on it which impares visibility of the remote buttons.
Review:The remote is very easy to operate and the instructions manual is easy to read and understand. I have found programming the remote system control buttons and other buttons with macros a gem. The learning function is wonderful in that if you follow the instructions in the manual, all set out step by step, this process is painless. The remote even turns the air-conditioner on!
My only complaint is that the screen leaves finger marks on it. I am not sure how this can be recified because I believe the touch screen is of great value.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by loug from New York.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 42 made on Friday January 3, 2003 at 4:54 PM.
Strengths:Cool chasis.

Eventually handles all functions.
Weaknesses:Poorly supported. (The manual almost unreadable. Thank God for RemoteCentral as arecourse)

Too big. Need both hands. Lousy ergonomics

Relabeling LCD buttons is limited to just a few options.

Battery life quirky -- as is supposedly non-volatile memory.

No pc interface to store settings or reconfigure or update software.

Poor contrast and lighting on LCD screen.

LCD screen gets smudgy (inherent to touch screens I guess)

(WAF) Wife Acceptance/approval Factor low. She had no idea how to work it.

Review:I ordered this because of Sony brand, touchscreen flexibility, and cool looking chasis.

Deeply disappointed (see above weaknesses) and have just ordered MX 500.

I guess I'm ultimately a one handed hard button guy. Touch screen is touchy but not feely.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Anthony M. Rocco from Cranford, NJ.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 41 made on Tuesday December 31, 2002 at 12:16 AM.
Strengths:Excellent ability to control devices using predefined manufacturer codes. I actually found my TV easier to control with this remote.
Weaknesses:Too difficult to see. The LCD text was too light, too fine and too dim. The backlight helped but I found myself unable to use the remote clearly without holding it at different positions. Also the manual says it can control my X10 devices. It doesn't control them unless you add an infrared signal converter to your home. My other remotes seem to control the TV, VCR, and X10 lights without any additional devices. Perhaps Sony forgot to mention that when then wrote the poorly constructed manual. They should have actually used the remote first, befor they actually wrote the manual.
Review:I was forced to return it due to its poor LCD panel. I felt I would go blind if I continued to look at the poorly lit display. The remote is also too wide to hold comfortably and also a bit heavy. It Sony remarkets this remote with a good display, and a smaller width, I would recommend everyone to purchase it. For now, I am still looking for a good remote thats both functional and easy to see.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jason Williams from Utah, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 40 made on Tuesday December 24, 2002 at 6:08 PM.
Strengths:Controls EVERYTHING, without exception. Excellent options for labelling the LCD for every function you could want.
Weaknesses:Very big, a little difficult to program but gets easier as you use it a little more.
Review:I really want to like this remote control, but I can't. It's an excellent device for controlling everything you want, but suffers from a major flaw. Certain devices (and it seems that Phillips is the worst offender), cause the remote to Freeze when you use it.
I have a Phillips brand home theatre device and I had to learn the codes from the original remote. Using the volume control freezes the remote. I returned it and then got a SIMA SUR-25. This works perfectly.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 9 of 15 for
the Sony RM-AV3000 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|6|7|8|9|10|11|12|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse