Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
7/31/22 - Itís time for my second new Just Like Timmy video!
7/12/22 - Why not check out my new YouTube animation channel, Just Like Timmy!
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Marantz RC5000i from Marantz.
Marantz RC5000i
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.16/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
15$549
The Marantz RC5000i is enhanced over the original RC5000 with twice as much user memory -- meaning you can fill 'er up with devices, macros, CD jukebox listings, favorite channels and much more!
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 3 for
the Marantz RC5000i remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Written by Mike Mulicka from Bethlehem, PA, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 8 made on Tuesday May 29, 2001 at 6:11 PM.
Strengths:High potential for sophisticated solutions. Clean hardware design. Rechargable battery with base. Plenty of memory. PC programming tool includes emulation function.
Weaknesses:Programming is unnecessarily difficult (with or without a PC)- no pre-programmed codes or code library and no scripting language. PC connection serial-based and unreliable. Extremely poor documentation and technical support. Small touchscreen makes input error-prone and difficult without a stylus.
Review:I really want to like this remote. I read many reviews, most of which were glowing. I did all the research I could. After months worth of hints to my wife, she finally plunked down the money and bought me an RC5000i as a gift to replace my old reliable RC2000 MK II. I was thrilled! Then I opened the box...

Sorry, folks, but for over $500 I expect a lot more. Not more features, but better implementation of and support for the ones provided.

I expected a steep learning curve and a considerable amount of setup work - hey, I own an RC2000! What I didn't expect was a complete lack of useful documentation and even worse, no technical support. I have yet to get my RC5000i sucessfully connected to a computer (I've tried three different PCs). Frankly, without sites like this one, the remote would be nearly useless. Marantz relies almost entirely on its community of users for support (hey, you're GREAT! but you're doing Marantz's job for them and can't possibly be expected to solve every problem).

When buying a product like this, I'm not buying hardware, software and potential - I'm buying a solution. I'm not a hacker/hobbyist - I just want my theater to work in a more automated way with the least amount of effort possible. I think all the wonderful reviews this product has received should be viewed with a fresh, critical perspective using the current state-of-the-art as a backdrop. The bar is currently far too low. Look at it this way - instead of comparing only other remotes with the RC5000i, compare it against similarly-priced devices like the Compaq iPaq. Easily programmable/ extensible, well supported, USB connectivity, color, etc.

I'm confident that I'll eventiually get the RC5000i to work, but the required investment of time and effort is way too high.

Bottom line, if you like to tinker and like a technical challenge, you'll LOVE the RC5000i. In contrast, if you just want to control your theater, investigate alternatives and select this one only with both eyes wide open.

Please note that the ratings accompanying this review are based on the total hardware/software/support package.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Don Kruining from Vancouver BC Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Wednesday May 2, 2001 at 2:11 PM.
Strengths:Ease of use
Computer programmable
Good backlight
Rechargable batteries included
Weaknesses:None
Review:This is by far the best remote I have ever owned. I've about 1 dozen others and while alot where very close to what I was looking for this one is the best. Practially unlimited devices, Completely customizable using a PC. 2 thumbs up for Marantz on this one.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Allan from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Thursday February 22, 2001 at 10:56 AM.
Strengths:Speed. Ease of use. Looks. Extremely configuarable. Battery life. Best touch screen I have ever used.
Weaknesses:If programmed through a PC the software takes some figuring out but having said that it works great. Some units have problems with the on board software telling the unit that the battery is not fully charged when in fact, it is.
Review:With its ability to learn just about any remote you may have, to being able to use other peoples configurations this remote is the dogs bo**ocks. It fits easy in the hand, is not too heavy; the battery life is amazing and it looks realy cool even just sitting on it's charger. The screen updates very quickly and is easy to read. Some people complain about LCD remotes, saying the on screen buttons are too small. Thats easy solved, design bigger buttons and upload them to the remote. All in all I have had this gadget for about 5 weeks and can find little to complain about.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Chad from Houston, TX.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 5 made on Sunday February 18, 2001 at 4:34 PM.
Strengths:Very Creative, Precise, It's the Best!!!!
Review:If you have 5-10 different remotes sitting on your coffee table, thne it is time to upgrade to this remote. This is the best programing remote out. You can create One-Touch Buttons and turn on all your equipment. A process that use to take a couple of minutes shuffling through all the remotes now happens in seconds with one button. I love this remote
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Bryan from Georgia, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Friday February 9, 2001 at 10:16 AM.
Strengths:IR strength, Program abilities, Memory
Weaknesses:Price
Review:Wow, I used to own a RC2000 Mk I. This remote is far and away superior. It's ability to create a remote with whatever design interface you like is a godsend. I've had my CCF set for a while, but continue to make tweaks here and there. The remote can control equipment from reflections of IR off walls. Macros and channels bitmaps just top everything off - bar none, the best remote control on the market (at least until the ProntoPro is released!).
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Kev Willers from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Sunday January 21, 2001 at 6:13 AM.
Strengths:Versatility, looks and rechargable docking station
Plus the ability to perform 'jumps' to anywhere
Memory - I still have 85% free
Weaknesses:Price ?
Doesn't make the coffee - well not yet
No timmers like on the Pronto
Review:When I first got the remote I was sceptical about the ability/functions.
But to quote a UK TV commercial
"it does exactly what it says on the box"
Only complaint is the lack of timmers
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by robert heller from florida,usa.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 2 made on Sunday December 10, 2000 at 10:33 PM.
Strengths:its very easy to use and fun to edit on your computer. its also very easy to use.
Weaknesses:if you dont have a computer is going to be very hard for you to edit it.
i wish there were more real buttons so i dont have to use lcd all the time.
Review:if you do have a comuter i think you would like it and its a good buy. but if you dont have computer i say you might want to go a cheaper route.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 3 for
the Marantz RC5000i remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse